A logic denyable…

Nowhere… I’m cutting right to the chase on this one because I’m seeing it all over the news and it’s beeing pissing me off.

We’ve all seen the laws being passed in an assortment of states that ban abortion with some of the most ridiculous measures and reasoning. Some people would read that as “a liberal Democrat” comment and such, but funny thing is… those people can shove it because I’m actually a registered Republican, not that it holds any bearing. I don’t care if you are riding an elephant or a donkey, either way dismount so we can be on the same level for a proper discussion for crying out loud. If the irritation on that is confusing then you haven’t read my other post from way back when Political Parties aka Adult Cliques

body autonomyMost of these laws are stomping on the idea of body autonomy so badly it’s amazing how these things got as far as they did, constitutionally speaking. For example, I am marked as an organ donor on my identification so that I can help someone who needs a new organ should I not be using them anymore (a kind way to say should I die which Nowhere isn’t a place for a filter so… f**k it). If I die where my brain and nervous system is no longer sparking up like a live wire they harvest my pieces for better uses than rotting. This is not a requirement to agree to on your ID. If someone does not agree to share organs after they’ve bit the big one then their organs get to rot in the ground with the rest of the body or be burned to ashes, whichever living you decided on. Now, mind you, I think that’s a waste but I wouldn’t imagining forcing that on someone who is not comfortable with that idea. Guess what? Neither do the hospitals, morgues, etc. since they will leave the pieces of the deceased together if, while they were living, the person checked no. This alone shows that a woman’s corpse can be shown more respect for her choices than her living self… nice right? Now tell me, as a government who is trying (in theory) do well by its people so it becomes prosperous (trust me it sounds so far from our government right now but hang in here with me) why are you going to honor the dead more than the living who are the ones paying taxes and voting.

Speaking of voting, Alabama’s gem of rights violation would have someone convicted to life in prison should someone get an abortion for any reason, yes… any… even if it was the product of rape. Then states like Georgia takes it to another level following you out of state so that even if you get an abortion where it is legal but you live in Georgia you will be punished as if you had done that within state. State laws should not be “following” you out of that said state. What does this have to do with voting? If someone is in the prison system or still bound by stipulations of release from it because of being charged by a felony (more than a misdemenor which these “crimes” would be) then most states don’t let you vote. 

Convict-leasing_children

Note that men could be charged too if aiding someone in getting an abortion but it is an even greater threat to the women and their collective voting voice.

The worst thing about these over the top almost militant level punishments being put into place is that they are easily 10 times harsher than a rapist would get. The issue of abortion honestly wasn’t even a problem that really needed fixing, but those laughable punishments for things like rape and molestation… THAT IS A PROBLEM IN NEED OF FIXING!!! For example, everyone remembers the scum of a human being named Brock Turner right? A few years back in 2015 he was arrested for raping an unconscious woman… he served just three months for raping someone who was completely passed out because in his mind that was a good way to get his jollies off or, according to his father, “getting some tail”. You want a sex partner who won’t concent… save it for your blow up sex doll at home, okay? Now if she had gotten pregnant and these laws were in place then not only did she have no say in getting pregnant (let alone say in having relations in the first place) but she would be forced into coming to term or going to prison possibly for life. The “shorter” punishment of having to live through the stress of a pregnancy let alone the stress from it being unwanted would be nine months while Brock Turner’s punishment was the equivelant of just one trimester! That shorter is in quotes because, with all the damage psychologically speaking as well as bodily stress because of such changes, it could easily compound into larger, long term issues mentally and physically. No matter someone’s views on abortion you can’t tell me that the one who assulted to result in the unwanted pregnacy should get less of a punishent than the victim. That is broken logic that is the root of the real problem about this whole thing.

I’ll be honest though, I couldn’t picture myself ever go through an abortion. As for others going through an abortion the reason why doesn’t matter as long as you need it, but I can’t stand when an abortion is used as birth control. If birth control was used by both parties and it still resulted in pregnancy then sure I’d have no qualms. This would require pills and condoms being readily accessable to everyone (including being affordable). Having said that, even with my view on it over all, I consider myself pro-choice if anything because until those inadequances of healthcare are addressed a woman should be able to abort if that’s her choice.

Anyone on the other side of this debate brings up the bible I’d smack them with it (and depending on the version it could pack a punch, like that hardcover pictured below). Religion itself isn’t perfect even within its own circle let alone letting it branch bibleout as I wrote in A Deity of Faith… It doesn’t matter what my religious affiliation is… seriously any of the pro-lifers who bring up the bible automatically forfiet their say in a governmental law if that is their only arguement for it. The United States of America has never been a theocracy, without it being a church state it’s hardly a place where a religious stance arguing for a law. It was founded with the idea of religious freedom so any religious texts or beliefes have no place carrying weight in the government. I’m all for it shaping your morals and personal lifestyle, but even if I agree with your religious take on a topic like this… I will not accept that as a valid arguement. 

All in all, I don’t know where this surge of this stuff came from, spreading like a wildfire in a drought. It’s terrifying that it got so far, but especially so because of the speed different states all came to this awful concenses. Beyond it’s basic lack of constitutional basis and its misguided righteousness, the implication of perpetuating the problem of prison overpopulation, endangering women, and negating votes of a sizeable population is really where the worst concequences of these laws are going to come through. Of course I hope we don’t get to see how bad these concequences get because legislature will realize their mistake before then. However, with the way American politics have been, I’m not holding my breath and honestly… not so proud to be an American…

Leave a comment